The Danger of Netflix Instant Watch

12/11/2011

Well, my roommates and I were going to take a study break by heading out to the national zoo, but we heard that it wasn’t as great as we had hoped it would be.  So I decided to watch Forks Over Knives on Netflix instant watch.  Why this movie?  Well, I read somewhere on Perez Hilton that it had been converting celebrities into vegans, so I was curious.  And I love a good food documentary.

In my senior year of high school, I watched Food, Inc and was awestruck.  I later watched King Corn, which was not as snazzy as Food, Inc., but I enjoyed learning even more about the powerful corn industry here in the U.S.  I wrote a paper my freshman year of college about corn subsidies and their effects on Mexican immigration to the U.S.  I was so fascinated by food policy, that when I began an internship as a 7th grade summer teacher, I focused my social studies class on agricultural subsidies in the U.S.

So I was ready, and eager, for another food documentary.

I was about 15 minutes into FoK when my suitemate came in.

“What are you watching?”

“Another food documentary,” I said through a mouthful of (non-vegan) cake.

“What’s it about?”

“It basically argues that the increase in heart disease and cancer is because we eat animal-based foods, I guess.”

“Like meat?”

“No, like, eggs, milk, everything that comes from animals.”  And another bite of cake.
My suitemate frowned and seemed a bit offended.

“So are you going to become a vegan after this?”

“No, no.  I just like watching documentaries about food policy.”

But after finishing the documentary, I’m not sure how truthful I was.

1 Comment

Filed under Big Issues, My Journey

One response to “The Danger of Netflix Instant Watch

  1. Pingback: Tofu is for Vegetarians « i wish i were vegan

Comment on the journey

