Bringing Everything Up-to-Date

Two days after watching Forks Over Knives, I had dinner with a different suitemate.  I again grabbed a piece of chicken, and again, I didn’t eat it.  Instead, I ate all of the vegan BBQ seitan that I had piled on my plate, and it was delicious.  Rice mixed with refried beans rounded out the meal.

But now I’m home for winter break, which brings its own set of challenges.  To my family, I am the picky eater that scorns healthy foods, so I don’t feel comfortable telling them about wanting to eat a more plant-based diet; they would actually laugh at me.  And really, I don’t want to make a big deal out of this and be held to unrealistic expectations if I have trouble making the transition.

Before settling in at home, though, I was lucky enough to travel to work on a television production job for a few days.  Staying in a hotel meant only eating out, which can make eating healthy a bit tricky.

Combine eating out with long work days, and throw in something called krafty.  This is the table full of food for the production crew – granola bars, chips, pretzels, sour gummies, mini chocolate pieces, Oreos, and these delicious bite-sized cake balls (when you eat 7 in a day though, I don’t think the fact that they’re “bite-sized” makes a difference).  By the 13th straight hour of work, I easily succumbed to the Rice Krispy treat whispering my name.

Forget about all that though, because today I went shopping at Whole Foods and stocked up on some vegan options, including beans, frozen veggies, seitan, etc.

I heated up a vegan pizza for lunch – Amy’s Non-Dairy Cheeze Pizza with Rice Crust.  I couldn’t get the soy cheese to melt properly, but it was still delicious.  However, I was surprised that this one personal pizza contained 43% of my Daily Value of “Total Fat.”  I thought vegan food was supposed to be less fatty than animal-based food…

After dinner, to get my sweet fix, I had a Tofutti Mint Chocolate Ice Cream Sandwich bar, which tasted better than some dairy-based ice cream sandwiches that I’ve had.

2 Comments

Filed under My Journey

2 responses to “Bringing Everything Up-to-Date

  1. khaetlyn

    I just want to say something about Amy’s “Soy cheese” pizza–it says it contains no lactose, but it does contain casein, a milk derivative. It’s really marketed to the lactose intolerant, not vegans, as their “soy cheese” mac n cheese also contains a little bit of milk. Plus, Amy’s is overpriced.

    You should check out Daiya. It’s a relatively new brand of vegan cheese and it melts fantastically. You can get it in cheddar, mozzarella, and pepper jack. It’s so good, places like the Mellow Mushroom and Your Pie have started using it. Tofurky has even started making their own frozen vegan pizzas with it. Whole Foods should carry both the frozen pizzas and the individual bags of Daiya. Don’t eat the shreds of “cheese” uncooked, though. Only melted. Trust me.

  2. Also, if you don’t like the taste of Daiya, you can get Follow Your Heart vegan cheese at Whole Foods. It comes in a block, so you have to grate it into shreds, but in my opinion it tastes WAY better, doesn’t have a weird aftertaste, and melts better. Any vegan cheese melts better if you shred it btw! And nutritional yeast might have a scary-sounding name, but it will become your best-friend for adding a cheesy flavor to lots of foods and sauces. Look for it in the bulk-section.

    And seitan from the store has a great texture usually, but it’s expensive and a bit dry. If you want it to be juicy, its REALLY easy to make yourself. Let me know if you want a recipe, but there’s a great one in Quick and Easy Vegan Comfort Food.

    Also, utilize your public library! Search for vegan cookbooks; even if your branch doesn’t have the one you want, you can usually request it from another library, and that’s always free!

Comment on the journey

