No Sugar Challenge: Breakfast Issues and Tea

My no sugar challenge has been interesting so far.  I cut out all sugar beginning Monday, meaning no foods that have sugar, maltodextrin, HFCS, etc. in the ingredients.  Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, despite sleeping eight hours, I found myself tired all day, and even snappy on Tuesday, which is really strange for me.  It’s crazy to think that this could seriously be caused by taking out all sugar, but I can’t think of what else it could be (stress, perhaps?).

This week probably wasn’t the best week to eliminate all sugar considering how stressful it’s been.  On Monday morning, after waking up early to go for a rare morning run (I wanted to start this week off right!), I came back and tried my Regular flavor Quaker Instant Oatmeal, which basically contains oats, salt, and some caramel coloring.  And I was disgusted.  The oatmeal was the same warm texture as always, but it lacked all flavor.  I sadly ate the rest of it, and I slowly realized that this week was going to be a bit difficult.

Tuesday morning, I added cinnamon to my regular oatmeal, which gave it a bit of flavor, but I think I ended up using too much cinnamon – I had a hard time swallowing a few of the bites.  So the next day I caved – I used one packet of Regular flavored, and one packet of my delicious High Fiber Cinnamon Swirl.   The Cinnamon Swirl flavor may contain maltodextrin and sugar, but it also has 10g of fiber, while the Regular flavor only has 3 grams.  So in the future, I think I will compromise by mixing one of each packet, which is something I wouldn’t have tried before this experiment.

Herbal tea is the only thing keeping me strong.  Celestial Peppermint tea, Tazo Sweet Cinnamon tea, Sleepytime Chamomile, Black Tea, Green tea – all the tea!  I’ve been drinking a lot more of it just to keep a strong flavor in my mouth to distract me.  Why is not eating sugar so difficult??

7 Comments

Filed under My Journey

7 responses to “No Sugar Challenge: Breakfast Issues and Tea

  1. Hang in there! You’re going through withdrawal – it’ll get easier, I swear!

  2. It will get easier. Try a protein shake for breakfast – I have one every morning and surprisingly, it’s very filling and gives me the energy I need until lunchtime. You haven’t cut out fruit, correct? Only refined sugars? You can do an almond/soy milk (which I use), banana and berries, a scoop of protein powder, ice cubes, blend and it’s like a milkshake, very good. I drink it while getting ready in the morning and it’s fast!

  3. Marina

    I’m giving up refined sugar this summer, too, which is no small feat for me. I’ve been eating oatmeal with fresh fruit every morning, and I’m actually finding it delicious and much more satisfying than sugary meals. Maybe the difference is in the kind of oatmeal we’re making? Definitely go with regular, not quick cooking, and definitely not instant. It still cooks really quickly (3 minutes in the microwave) and is much better for you!

    • I’m so used to Instant Oatmeal that I’ve really never considered anything else! But if you swear it’s that easy, then I’ll definitely give it a try. Thanks for the suggestion.

      • Marina

        I swear by it! Also, have you tried adding some sliced fruit? I’ve found that oatmeal and fruit is an amazing combination of flavors and textures and it’s a great way to add nutrients. I always add peaches, banana, strawberries, blueberries, etc. The possibilities are endless! I’m gonna try mango soon.

Comment on the journey

